Lates News

A Comprehensive List Of Nigerian Presidents from 1960 to the Present Day

A Comprehensive List: Nigerian Presidents from 1960 to the Present Day


Nigeria’s journey as a nation has been shaped by visionary leaders who have guided the country through various eras of progress, challenges, and transformation. From its independence in 1960 to the present day, Nigeria has seen a succession of presidents, each leaving their mark on the nation’s history. In this blog post, we present a comprehensive list of Nigerian presidents from 1960 to the current date, highlighting their contributions and the contexts in which they led.

1. Dr. Nnamdi Azikiwe (1963 – 1966): As Nigeria’s first ceremonial president and a key figure in the struggle for independence, Dr. Azikiwe championed nationalism and unity. He played a crucial role in shaping the early political landscape of the country.

2. Major General Johnson Aguiyi-Ironsi (1966): Following a military coup, Aguiyi-Ironsi assumed power as the first military head of state. His tenure was brief but marked by attempts to stabilize the nation amid political unrest.

3. General Yakubu Gowon (1966 – 1975): Gowon’s leadership saw Nigeria through the challenging years of the Civil War (1967-1970). He prioritized national unity and post-war reconstruction.

4. Brigadier General Murtala Ramat Mohammed (1975 – 1976): Murtala Mohammed focused on anti-corruption measures and political reforms during his short-lived presidency. His administration laid the groundwork for future changes.

5. General Olusegun Obasanjo (1976 – 1979 and 1999 – 2007): Obasanjo served as a military ruler and later as a democratically elected president. He oversaw the country’s transition to democracy in 1999 and prioritized economic reforms and diplomatic relations.

6. Alhaji Shehu Shagari (1979 – 1983): Shagari’s presidency marked Nigeria’s return to civilian rule after years of military governance. He emphasized agriculture and rural development.

7. Major General Muhammadu Buhari (1983 – 1985 and 2015 – Present): Buhari’s first term began with an anti-corruption campaign and economic measures. After a democratic hiatus, he returned to power in 2015, focusing on security and anti-corruption efforts.

8. General Ibrahim Babangida (1985 – 1993): Babangida’s leadership saw ambitious economic reforms, but his tenure was marred by political controversies, including the annulment of the 1993 presidential elections.

9. Chief Ernest Shonekan (1993): Shonekan served as interim president between Babangida and Abacha. His tenure was marked by economic challenges and political instability.

10. General Sani Abacha (1993 – 1998): Abacha’s presidency was characterized by political repression, human rights abuses, and economic mismanagement. His death led to a transition back to democracy.

11. Chief Olusegun Obasanjo (1999 – 2007): As Nigeria’s first democratically elected president in the Fourth Republic, Obasanjo focused on governance reforms, economic development, and regional stability.

12. Alhaji Umaru Musa Yar’Adua (2007 – 2010): Yar’Adua’s presidency prioritized issues such as electoral reform and the Niger Delta crisis. His administration faced health challenges, leading to his untimely death.

13. Dr. Goodluck Jonathan (2010 – 2015): Jonathan assumed office after Yar’Adua’s passing and won the subsequent election. His tenure saw significant infrastructure development and economic growth.

14. Muhammadu Buhari (2015 – Present): Buhari’s second term in office focuses on security, anti-corruption, and economic diversification. His administration continues to navigate the complexities of Nigeria’s challenges and opportunities.

Past Nigerian Presidents Since Independence Till Date (1960 – 2023)

Below are the past Nigerian presidents from 1960 till date (2023) :

  1. Azikiwe Nnamdi (1 October 1963 to 16 January 1966)
  2. General Johnson Aguiyi-Ironsi (16 January 1966 to 29 July 1966)
  3. General Yakubu Gowon (1 August 1966 to 29 July 1975)
  4. General Murtala Mohammed (29 July 1975 to 13 February 1976)
  5. General Obasanjo Olusegun (13 February 1976 to 1 October 1979)
  6. President Shehu Shagari (1 October 1979 to 31 December 1983)
  7. General Muhammadu Buhari (31 December 1983 to 27 August 1985)
  8. General Ibrahim Babangida (27 August 1985 to 26 August 1993)
  9. Ernest Shonekan (26 August 1993 to 17 November 1993)
  10. General Sani Abacha (17 November 1993 to 8 June 1998)
  11. General Abdulsalami Abubakar (8 June 1998 to 29 May 1999)
  12. Olusegun Obasanjo (29 May 1999 to 29 May 2007)
  13. Umaru Musa Yar Adua (29 May 2007 to 5 May 2010)
  14. Goodluck Ebele Jonathan (29 May 2010 to 29 May 2015)
  15. President Muhammadu Buhari (From 2015 to 2023)
  16. Bola Ahmed Tinubu (Current president)


The list of Nigerian presidents from 1960 to the present day reflects the country’s diverse history, challenges, and achievements. Each president has played a unique role in shaping Nigeria’s trajectory, contributing to its political, economic, and social landscape. As the nation continues to evolve, it’s essential to recognize the contributions of these leaders in the context of Nigeria’s journey towards progress and prosperity.

#bbcnews,#Business,#Canada,#Computer,#Education,#Scholarship,#Systems#Technology,#USA,#Nigeria,#how to,university,

One Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button